University of Seville (Spain)

The University of Seville was founded in late 15th century as the School of Blessed Mary of Jesus (Colegio de Santa María de Jesús) by Archdeacon Maese Rodrigo Fernández de Santaella. In 1505 a papal bull of Pope Julius II allowed it to teach degrees in Theology, Philosophy, Law, Medicine and Arts. In 1551 the city council granted a General Study Centre (Estudio General) which enabled the School to become officially a university. The University of Seville, in Spanish “Universidad de Sevilla”, is a public university in Seville, Spain. It has about 70,000 students scattered around different campuses, being the second Spanish presential university by number of students. The extensive university community is organized into 25 Academic Centres, 6 Associated Centres, 125 University Departments and 156 Knowledge Areas. The University of Seville boasts one of the widest offerings of degree programmes in Spain: 77 Degrees and Double Degrees, 81 Official Masters Degrees and more than 150 Internal Programs. The University of Seville is a Campus of International Excellence (

The School of Engineering at the University of Seville is an institution that develops its functions to provide public service on Higher Education in the areas of Aeronautical, Industrial, Telecommunications, Civil and Chemical Engineering. More than 6000 students enrolled in the courses, 500 academic staff at 20 Departments, and 45.000 m2 built area (data that make the School be positioned in the first place among the different faculties of the University of Seville).

The important international recognition of the School becomes evident with the growing increase in the number of student exchange grants for attending the academic year abroad or for developing the Final Project Work in about 20 European Universities and other grants for Latin America, Canada and USA.

Its high professional prestige is evident with employment rates higher than 90% in the first year as graduate students; thus the School is positioned on top of the degrees conferred by the university in aspects such as employment, wages, and adequacy of the working post to training and knowledge, and satisfaction with the working post.

In 2010, Seville celebrated its centenary of aviation and aeronautics, a milestone which reflects the close links the Andalusian capital has maintained with the aeronautical industry over the course of its 100-year history and which today continues to be one of the main pillars of its economy and business activity. Seville has been associated with the development of aeronautics and aviation in Spain ever since the beginnings of the industry. It has progressively grown in terms of the number of companies, turnover and employment in recent decades to convert the city and Andalusia, taking into account the industries in the Bay of Cádiz, into the third most important aeronautical cluster in Europe after Toulouse and Hamburg. Ever since the beginning of the 20th century, Seville has featured in numerous milestones for the aviation and aeronautics sector. These include important achievements such as the construction and assembly of the Dornier Wal, Heinkel 111, the HA 200 ‘Saeta’, the Northrop F-5, the C-101 and the Harrier Plus, and the development and start-up of the C212, the CN-235, the C295 and more recently the A400M. All this tradition and history make Seville a city with one of the richest legacies of aeronautical industry and technology in Europe. Today, this heritage is more present than ever as a consequence of projects such as the Final Assembly Line of the A400M by Airbus Military, which represents one of the greatest challenges of the European aeronautical industry and one of the major pillars for the future of the Andalusian capital's economy and employment; the Andalusian Aerospace Technology Park (Aeropolis); the Higher School of Aeronautical Engineering; and the future A400M Pilot Training Centre.

The University of Seville (Aeronautics Unit) is full member of Pegasus Network since October 2010.

Recently, the Management System of the School of Engineering at the University of Seville has been awarded as “Recognised for excellence 3 star” by the European Foundation for Quality Management (EFQM) according to the EFQM Excellence Model. The aim of this business model is helping organizations to strive for Sustainable Excellence.

The role of University of Seville in the PERSEUS project will be to lead WP4, and in addition to participate actively in WP3 and WP6.